Finding the Hills

The first couple of weeks of the training plan have me back at shorter distances for a little while.  Which is a good thing, since it feels like I’ve barely run at all for a month or so.  I’m still struggling with the colder weather and fitting in my runs.  My plan on how to manage it was good, but the reality of living in a cold house is making it a bit harder.  It’s tough to talk myself out into the cold for a run when I’m inside and cold to the bone already and know that after the run there’s no nice, warm house to return to.

Last week I managed a couple of runs – one on the treadmill, a quick intense interval session.  Mid-week I worked from home and headed out for a local 45 min run.  I’m lucky to have this option and with the commute time removed I can fit in a run in my lunch break and still get my hours in.

The lunch time run was my first outdoor run since the NOSH and my first steady run in ages.  The plan was for 6.5km at “recovery” pace which has sped up to 7:10/km.  I plotted a route on google maps around my suburb taking in as many hills as I could without doubling up anywhere.  Perfect planning had me finishing at the local shops (to pick up lunch) on target for distance and with close to 140m elevation squeezed in.  Some of those hills were hard, but my goal was to keep moving, don’t stop, don’t walk and don’t push harder on the flats and downhills to “make up” time.  I ended up averaging a 7:30/km pace, but with that much elevation in it I’m not going to lose any sleep over it!

Unfortunately, since then I haven’t run.  The weekend was perfect weather, but Saturday morning was freezing cold (for me!) and then the day got away from us.  Sunday was spent in recovery mode after a big night out – first hangover in absolutely years – ouch!  I “should” have been back on the treadmill last night, but home life with kids got in the way.  I’ll probably head out for a run again tomorrow when I work from home – a full week since my last run and with an event this weekend that we’re completely under prepared for.

Leave a Reply

