Photos of a Run

Moved into our new home, plotted out an approx 10km trail based on maps from Wildwalks (awesome resource for finding trails and detailed directions!) and very limited local knowledge.  The run started pleasantly enough, saw some of the local wildlife, scrambled down a steep, but well defined trail and continued along the river edge.  The track rapidly deteriorated, turned into a slow bush bash along poorly defined track with the occasional tape tied to a tree letting me know I wasn’t completely lost.  Struggled to find the crossing for the first river, but after that it became a little easier, with the trail eventually becoming runnable again.  My “quick” 10km had turned into a two and a half hour slog.  Fortunately I had planned and taken water with me and some jelly beans.  Since I was walking, and I’m unlikely to take this exact route again, I took a few photos:

20161204_075937

Doesn’t get much better than this – shortly after this photo I came across a wallaby grazing by the trail!

20161204_081138

Gorgeous views

20161204_082125

The river

The trail rapidly deteriorated

The trail rapidly deteriorated

20161204_083032

Thank goodness for tape on trees

Finally found the first river crossing

Finally found the first river crossing

20161204_085414

On the other side and a bit of open space!

Bungaroo river crossing

Bungaroo river crossing

Finally back on defined trails again!

Finally back on defined trails again!

Another river crossing!

Another river crossing!

Still gorgeous scenery

Still gorgeous scenery

Nearly there!

Nearly there!

And I made it to the end.  Where my husband and girls were patiently waiting for me.  Never again!

Leave a Reply

