Intervals

Damn leg took a good three days to settle down after a very, very painful post-run Monday.  Today was pain free.  So I went for a run tonight.

My evening to get the girls settled, so my only option for a run was laps around the local oval.  Luckily it’s winter and soccer training is on, so most nights the lights are on.  I decided my best option was a quick batch of intervals.  I have been reading some running sites recently and there are so many different options for running intervals.  I went with the pyramid intervals option.

It was actually kind of fun.  Started with a two lap warm up, then did intervals of 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m, 400m, 200m, 100m.  With 100m walk between each.  All distances were approximate as I just measured it based on the oval being 400m and the lights around the oval being close enough to 100m apart each.

I’m not going to break any records, but I got them done.  My calf gave a bit of a twitch towards the end and I’m icing it as I write, but nothing too bad.  Think I need to avoid hills for a while to let it recover properly.

Leave a Reply

