Goals – Part 2

Great Nosh Footrace

This is a trail run organised by orienteers, which is how I came across it last year.  It’s around 16km of damn hilly but beautiful terrain, ranging from single track to smooth, wide fire trail.  We signed up last year, despite the fact that the farthest I had ever run was 6km.  I had a cold for the two weeks leading up to the race, my nose only clearing at kilometre eight.  I struggled, both Achilles cramped, but I did it and even managed to jog a bit towards the end and put on a push to the finish.  We didn’t finish last.  It took 2 hours 40 minutes with my goal this year to get it to sub 2 hours.

 

Turkey Trot

Another orienteering event!  This one is a line course, you have to get all the controls in the order stated, the navigation is fairly straight forward and there are three course lengths.  It’s held in Sydney’s north west in a slightly different location each year.  We did the medium course (12km) last year, I think in around two hours.  My aim this year is to do it in sub 1:40.  Hopefully I will have done a couple of runs this length prior to the event at the start of July.

 

Goanna

Another orienteering event run on a variation of a straight line course.  Three different course lengths are available.  I’m pretty sure we did the medium course last year (could have been long) and I struggled on the day.  A lot!  My husband has the patience of a saint.  While it is scored individually, we ran it together.  This year we will do better.

 

One thought on “Goals – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Great Nosh Footrace 2015 | Faster Mummy Faster

Leave a Reply

